SCSC Receives Grant from PLRAC

2018 Nicollet County PLRAC Grant AwardeesSCSC recently received an $8,000 grant from the Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council (PLRAC) for the Young Writers & Artists Conference
The Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council announced that grants of $163,281 from the Arts and Culture Heritage (ACH) Fund have been awarded to 24 arts organizations, community groups and schools in the region. These grants were awarded to organizations to increase their artistic offerings and to provide a variety of activities including: arts festivals, instrumental and vocal music concerts, theater and dance performances, visual art exhibitions, art and writing classes, public art, etc. These grants ranged from $2,000 to $8,000 for a total of $163,281. 

PLRAC grant logoThis activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a grant from the Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund. The Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council is committed to supporting and expanding the arts in the nine-county area; knowing that the Arts improve the quality of life in our region.  

Join us March 12-13, 2019 for a great day of writing and fine arts for students in grades 3-9. Brochures of sessions will be available in January.

Representatives of the groups include: Row 1 (L to R): Jodi Pohler, State Street Theater Company; Kristin Ziemke, Mankato & North Mankato ACT on Alzheimer’s; Susan Harstad, Minnesota Valley Chorale; Bethel Balge, Martin Luther College; Sara McKay, Saint Peter Choral Society; Sarah Tetzloff, Merely Players Community Theatre; Patricia Prange, Minnesota Valley Sweet Adelines; and Alice De Yonge, Project G.E.M. Row 2: Mary Hillmann, South Central Service Cooperative; Rachel James, Waseca Arts Council; Stacy Lienemann, Waseca-LeSueur Regional Library; Leah Prahl, Arlington Chamber of Commerce; Sonja Fortune, Martin County Preservation Assoc., Red Rock Center for the Arts; Sue Harris, St. James Community Education; Carolyn Borgen, Mankato Area Youth Symphony Orchestra; and Ann Rosenquist Fee, Arts Center of Saint Peter. Row 3: Richard Miller, Blue Earth Valley Concert Association; Matt Strum, Mankato Children’s Chorus; Fred Slocum, Musicorum; Dale Ruhland, Montgomery Area Community Club; Ben Thietje, DalekoArts; Jake Zeiher, Minnesota New Country School; and Brenda Byron, PLRAC Executive Director.