National Blue Ribbon Schools Named

Congratulations to Maple River East Elementary for being named a National Blue Ribbon School for 2018. View the full press release from the Minnesota Department of Education below.

For Immediate Release
Contact: Emily Bisek
October 3, 2018

U.S. Department of Education Recognizes Eight Minnesota Schools as 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools

ROSEVILLE, MN—The U.S. Department of Education recognized eight Minnesota schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2018, based on their overall academic excellence or progress in closing achievement gaps among student groups. 

“Our teachers and educators deserve so much credit for their focus on equity and ensuring all kids get an excellent education,” said Minnesota Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius. “Our Blue Ribbon Schools set the bar high and we look forward to learning from their success. Congratulations to this year’s awardees.”

Schools are honored in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, student group scores and graduation rates:

Exemplary High Performing Schools are among the state’s highest-performing schools as measured by state assessments. 
Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among the state’s highest-performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s student groups and all students over the past five years. 
The recognized schools from Minnesota are:

  • Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart Elementary School, Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart Schools
  • Canby Elementary School, Canby Public Schools
  • Fertile-Beltrami Elementary School, Fertile-Beltrami School District
  • Maple River East Elementary School, Maple River Schools
  • Red Rock Central Secondary School, Red Rock Central Public School District
  • School of Engineering and Arts, Robbinsdale Area Schools
  • Vandyke Elementary School, Greenway Public Schools
  • Wayzata Central Middle School, Wayzata Public Schools

Now in its 36th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has recognized more than 8,800 schools in the country. On November 7 and 8, the U.S. Department of Education will celebrate with all honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

View MDE's press release.